Wrap-Up

July Wrap Up

Happy Monday everyone!

This month sure went by fast! I met so many nice people and I can’t wait to be more active on here. Good thing, I’m finally going on a trip to Gran Canaria. Which basically means I’ll be lying on the beach, enjoying the sun and reading the whole day. I stocked up on eBooks – sadly, I can’t take all the physical books with me. You can check out the books I want to read on my vacation (and for the rest of August) here. Let’s see how many I’ll manage.

If you follow me on Social media, you might have seen this post here.
Thalia Ludwigshafen featured my book recs and my blog in their store. Thalia is one of Germany’s largest book chain stores and I’m really thankful that they asked me and gave me the opportunity to be a part of this awesome project. The display is simply beautiful! The books I’ve recommended were Vier Farben der Magie (A Darker Shade of Magic), The Raven Boys, Six of Crows and Always and Forever Lara Jean.

Okay, enough shitchat y’all. It’s time for the actual wrap up!

#1 Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones6294
Goodreads
My rating: ★★★★

I finally read the book the Ghibli movie is based on! Whenever I watched a movie before reading the book version, I’m scared that I will always remember the movie in my mind. Fortunately, this was not the case. A lot of things were projected quite differently, but just as magical. Also wow, I knew Howl was kinda a crybaby in the movie, but he was a lot worse in the book. Can I just quote Howl while he was having a cold? “I’m dying of neglect here.” Even though everyone was catering to his every need. What intrigued me were Howl’s origins and how he became a wizard, but sadly this topic was only breeched quickly.

35556631#2 Vier Farben der Magie by V.E. Schwab
Goodreads
My rating: ★★★★★

Yes, this was totally a cover buy. As soon as I saw the German version of A Darker Shade of Magic, I just had to buy it. Look how pretty it is! It’s one of the little books I read in German in quite some time and this time I got to say that I was content with the translation. This was actually also me trying to buddy read with a dear friend, but ended up with me binging the whole thing again in a few days.

35557889#3 The Snow Angel by Lauren St. John
Goodreads; My review
My rating: ★★★

I didn’t think I would enjoy this book as much as I did. After a sloppy start, this book captured me and I didn’t want to put it down. It’s quite the fast read with only 200 pages, which is nice in itself, but I feel like there were so many interesting plot points that were just touched superficially. This could of course be due to the fact that this book is aimed at children. I just feel like it had so much more potential. Another thing that confused me was that it was advertised as a Christmas book. Why did I ever think it wouldn’t be weird to read a Christmas book in summer, you asked? To be honest I didn’t think about it until I received the arc. Thankfully, Christmas wasn’t the focus of this book at all.

3 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

