Reviews · Reviews

Review: Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Untitled-1

Hello lovelies!

Anyone who follows me on my other social media might know that I already got this gem earlier last week. I was right about to use my lunch break to pick up the book from the store, before my sister took it upon herself. So why did it take me this long to write the review you ask? Well I got sick and spent most of the time sleeping and I still can’t seem to write any reviews while sleeping. Sad.

If you haven’t read the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series, you should do so now and come back later. It’s about 16-year-old Lara Jean, who wrote love letters to all the boy’s she loved before (hence the title) that get suddenly sent to said boys. It all spirals into confrontations, confessions, fake relationships. To top it off there’s lots of baking and the portrayal of cute relationships between sisters. Also we’ve got Asian-American main characters!

I’m putting a read more here for good measures, since I’m not sure what y’all would consider spoilery and most of it are just my feelings towards the book anyway.


Could this book have been any more perfect??! As soon as I started reading the first sentence, I was back at the Song girls’. It felt like no time at all had passed since PS I Still Love you came out two years ago, and while that one was a great ending in its own. But what kind of person would I be if I said no to a Lara Jean novel?

So, here we are. Lara Jean’s and Peter’s senior year. The most important year of their high school life and we get all of it: Prom, Senior Week, Graduation, and, of course, College Applications.
I have to admit that the whole college plot line was quite obvious and overly foreshadowed, but I’m glad this was the main reason for conflicts. I’m all for fluff and I couldn’t have dealt with another, or an old love interest weaselling his way in — Peter K all the way.

Apart from that, you could really see how much Lara Jean grew up. Making new friends, enjoying new things, and just being happily in love. Especially doing things she would probably not have done in book one, and I’m proud of her becoming that person.

But it’s not only Lara Jean that got her character development. I always liked Margot and I can understand when people get annoyed by her. After all she isn’t physical present for most of the plot. However, I can still relate to her a lot, being the older sister and all. I, too, felt like a lot had changed when I visited home while I was at uni.
While we didn’t get to see much of Margot, Kitty was ever present, being the annoying sunshine she is and cracking you up with her witty comebacks. I can’t believe that kid is already eleven. How can a book timeline mess with my feelings so much?

I’m going to be honest with you, I cried a lot in the end. Not because something horrible happened, but just because it was over. Well, okay, that could probably count as something horrible. I read the last twenty to thirty pages in the bathtub and I was so sad. I still am. To see it all over and to know that there won’t be any new Song book waiting for me. I can’t remember when I last felt this sad to say goodbye to a book series, to characters I relate a lot to. I’m trying to be realistic here, but I also don’t know if there’ll even be a book this year that can excite me as much as Always and Forever Lara Jean did and still does.

One thought on “Review: Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

