Reviews

Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

30226723

“Not a god’s chosen, but a god’s cursed. That’s what we all are.”

Welcome to another review! First things first: I would consider this full of spoilers. With using the conditional here I do mean to say that this is literally a huge spoiler bubble. Especially because I like to share my thoughts on certain important plot points that happen towards the end of the book. So be warned. I’ll be adding a read more for good measures. You’ll be on your own from here on; okay, no I’m kidding. I won’t leave your side.


With this last book, Victoria Aveyard managed to make up for everything I disliked in Glass Sword. And yes, I’m including all the boring parts. It might also have something to do that there weren’t too many new characters we got introduced to since the max number of added characters was already reached in the previous one.

You might now wonder why I even considered reading King’s Cage at all. For one thing, I do like to finish my book series if I already read two out of three. Even if I just skip through them to see what happens in the end. I didn’t have to do it with King’s Cage; it didn’t disappoint at all, which makes me even happier since I really loved Red Queen when I first read it. I know, I have a difficult relationship with this series.

Apropos relationships- do I get kudos for this transition – I did not foresee this at all. It surprised and blindsided me, but in a good way. It’s so refreshing to not see the main character end up with the obvious choices. I gotta admit that I liked Maven since book one. Until he did the thing. Insert Tyra Banks yelling I was rooting for you here. I kept hoping that he would come around, although I knew deep down that there was nothing that would have excused his behaviour and I’m glad Mare knew too.

I don’t really have an opinion on Cal. For me, he was mostly your typical YA love interest and your typical love triangle, who couldn’t decide what he wanted. The crown, the brother, or the girl? He probably wanted all of them at the same time; when does that ever work. Anyway, I didn’t pay that much attention to him, so it didn’t feel like a loss when she didn’t choose him. It was more of a plot twist for me. It was an option I didn’t even take into consideration since it’s not that usual for a YA novel. At this point I can’t name any other book in the genre where the girl choses herself instead of a boy. A+ to Aveyard for that.

While there weren’t many new characters as I already mentioned, we got to know Evangeline way better. Evangeline, who had seemed to want a crown so freaking bad that she didn’t seem to mind ending up with the wrong, evil brother. Evangeline who had just wanted said crown to please her family and so she could make her brother’s wife, her best friend, her girlfriend her queen consort.
What irks me is that we don’t find out how it ends. Does she get her happy end with Elane? Do they have to live in the palace or do they manage to elope with her brother in tow? These are just some of the questions I have regarding Evangeline. She was one of the characters I didn’t think much about before, but started to care a lot for her in later chapters. Her whole plot blindsided me. I didn’t expect it at all.

Overall, I can say that King’s Cage has been a pleasant surprise. Not at all what I expected, and not even lending my e-book reader to a friend and having to read on my phone again stopped me from enjoying this read wholeheartedly. So, if you made it through this review while knowing that it contains major spoilers, and are like me and didn’t like the second book as well, give this one a try. I promise you won’t regret it.

For the people who have yet to read this series. JUST DO IT. Maybe skip the second book though, or ask me to summarize it for you, I’ll gladly do it as best as I can and continue with the third afterwards. There are even more interesting things happening, this were just the ones I needed to talk about 😉.

P.S.: Can I just quote the following passage: “Caz, Brecker, with us!”.
I see what you did here. At least, I hope it was intentional.

5 thoughts on “Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

