Reviews

Frankfurt Book Fair and other life updates

Good evening, everyone!

This is just going to be a quick(er) update. I actually had a whole blogging schedule packed with books but I’ve started doing serious adult stuff two weeks ago (i.e. my internship), and that kept me busier than I thought it would. On top of that, going to two Twenty One Pilots concerts in one week, and thus also travelling to Vienna, doesn’t really leave much time for anything else. Not that I’m complaining, it was an amazing week and I’m not sure how I will actually deal with the weeks to come without having planned anything in advance yet. Although I’m looking forward to being able to just spend a whole day reading. It’s been way too long and with the days getting shorter and colder, it’s the perfect weather to curl up with a book.(If you want see more of what I was up to, you can find a lot of it on my Instagram or just hmu. I don’t think I’ve ever posted so much on there in such a short time).

Anyways. I did want to post about the Frankfurt Book Fair. It took place like three weeks ago, which means that I’m already late, but whatevs. I felt the need to at least mention it, and I’d probably regret not writing anything about it, especially since it has been a constant event in my life for eight years. Also, I did want to try to stick to the schedule I set for myself and not discard it by the second post.

I was told by my friend Bekka that I don’t have any valid reason to procrastinate on writing reviews anymore, since my tbr pile is now stocked up. Maybe I can even finish my Goodreads challenge in time without having to change my goal again.
(Let’s be real: I either have to sell my soul for more free time, or – which is more likely- spend the days between Christmas and New Year’s doing a readathon. It worked last year).

We are usually a group of like ten for both German book fairs, which is exactly why I’m looking forward so much to these events. I met most of my best friends at those fairs, and meeting up with all of them – especially since they live all over – is the best thing. Also books. Lots of books. Just being in the presence of a massive number of books lifts me up.

img_9219

So, here’s the overview of the haul. My personal highlight is probably the tote bag. It’s the cutest! And definitely big enough for carrying too many books. Thank God for Instagram, since I found it there on Saturday, so we had enough time to hunt down the amazon publishing booth and after asking some of the hostesses, they brought out their secret stash. The blue book without a title is just a cute little notebook they were giving away. It follows the same rule as books. You can never have too many of them.
I don’t really know a lot about the different plots. But all in all, they do look promising.

The Humans by Matt Haig
“One wet Friday evening, Professor Andrew Martin of Cambridge University solves the world’s greatest mathematical riddle. Then he disappears.“
The summary on Goodreads didn’t give you much information, but a book with a dog on the cover can’t be too bad. It was also mentioned that the main character hates everyone, except his dog, which is quite relatable. Another friend of mine had her eye on this book for quite some while so I’m looking forward to reading it.

Ten Days by Gillian Slovo
This one’s a thriller about three people whose lives are going to be ruined / already ruined? I don’t know that much about it, but I’m always down for a good suspense-filled thriller to keep me on my toes.

The Death of Bunny Monroe by Nick Cave
I literally have no expectations what so ever for this book. I didn’t even know that Nick Cave was an author as well, but Wikipedia told me that he wrote two other books as well. I’m kind of sceptical, but we’ll see, maybe I can get a good laugh. Don’t judge a book by its cover and all.

Timekeepers by Simon Garfield
This one’s a book about time (if you couldn’t tell by the name) and how it’s perceived. The cover is quite beautiful, and it’s a hardcover copy too. I don’t read that many non-fiction books, but as far as I’ve seen, Simon Garfield is quite a popular one at writing those, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

Orphans of the Carnival by Carol Birch
This is probably the book I’ve been looking forward to reading the most. The cover looks really nice with all the black and gold. The reason I’m so enticed by this book is that it kind of reminds me of Six of Crows. It might just be the vibe I’m getting from it, but it did intrigue me enough to order my friends to read it – and I haven’t even started it. Though I don’t think it’s possible to go wrong with carnival theme.

Fun Science by Charlie McDonnell
I watched lots of Charlie’s videos when I was younger and it felt only right to get his book. Reading books written by Youtubers feels more personal to me. At least that was the case with Dan and Phil’s The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire. I hope Fun Science is going to be just as entertaining. One of my friends who’s a geology student skipped through it and gave her okay. The science is explained good enough that science noobs like me should be able to understand it. Also, Gideon -his cat- is in it too, so it has to be good.

I might post individual photos of the books later, but for now the “group pic” has to do. Since I’m still reading Career of Evil at the moment, I haven’t decided which book to read afterwards, so if you have any preferences, just tell me in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Frankfurt Book Fair and other life updates

Leave a Reply

